Group Members


Robert Hamilton Austin

Principal Investigator

Robert H. Austin received his B.A. in Physics from Hope College in Holland MI and his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana in 1976. He did a post-doc at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry from 1976-1979 and has been at Princeton University in the Department from Physics from 1979 to the present, achieving the rank of Professor of Physics in 1989.

He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences USA. He has served as a President of the Division of Biological Physics of the American Physical Society, and is the present Chair of the U.S. Liaison Committee of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. He has served as the biological physics editor for Physical Review Letters, serves on numerous review panels for NIH, NSF, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund and NIST, and is the Editor of the Virtual Journal of Biological Physics. He won the 2005 Edgar Lilienfeld Prize of the American Physical Society.

Back to top

Liyu Liu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Liyu received his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Science and Technology of China in 2004. He later decided to a pursue a Ph.D. in Physics from Prof. Weijia Wen at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. In 2006, he joined the Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Program, where he primarily studied electrorheological fluids and their applications in microfluidic devices. After receiving his degrees in July 2008, he joined Prof. Robert Austin's group later in November, where he now focuses on cross-disciplinary studies on cancer metastasis and evolutions with in vitro micro/nano constructed 3-D landscapes .

Back to top

Joseph L. D'Silva

Graduate Student (EE Department - shared with Sturm group)

Joseph D’Silva received the B.S. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Cornell University in May 2009. In his final year of undergraduate study, he worked in the SonicMEMS group on the characterization of the acoustic fields generated by ultrasonic horns for directed acoustic field applications. During the summers while he was an undergraduate, he completed research internships at the University of Texas at Austin, the Rowland Institute at Harvard University, and the National Institute of Standards and Technology. The projects he worked on during these internships included the development of an acoustically-driven microfluidic cell sorter, the application of atomic force microscopy and optical trapping to the characterization of the mechanical properties of DNA molecules, and the fabrication of ultra-flat, micron-diameter gold surfaces for the immobilization of DNA molecules. His current work focuses on the application of microfluidic separation techniques to the extraction of stem cells from blood.

Back to top

Amy Wu

Graduate Student (EE Department - shared with Sturm group)

Amy Wu received her B.S. degrees in Physics and Atmospheric Sciences from National Taiwan University in 2007, analyzing air-polluted emissive chemicals in Taiwan under the supervision of Prof. Jen-Ping Chen, Cloud and Aerosol Research Group. From 2007 to 2009, Amy earned her M.S. (Electronic Engineering) from NTU, supervised by Prof. Chung-Chih Wu. Amy’s thesis involved the photo-physical and charge-transport characterization of various organic semiconductors. From 2009, she becomes an Electrical Engineering PhD student in Princeton. Her current work focuses on physical sciences in oncology.

Back to top

Qiucen Zhang

Graduate Student

Back to top

Jason Puchalla

Research Scientist

Research: My work is at the interface between physics and biology. I collaborate closely with physicists, biochemists and molecular biologists. Recently, I have been using the power of single particle optics and microfluidics to probe the dynamics of protein-aggregate and vesicle-coat disassembly. Techniques of general interest are:

Back to top

Recent Past

Guillaume Duclos
Guillaume Lambert - Now at NYU
Kevin Loutherback - Now at LBNL
Jonas N. Pedersen - Now at Danmarks Tekniske Universitet
David Liao - Now at UCSF in Dr. Tlsty's lab.
André Estevez-Torres - Now at CNRS/LPN
Chih-kuan Tung - Now at University of Pittsburgh.
Troy Mestler
Keith Morton - Now at NCR Canada
Peter Galajda - Now at Tu Delft
Shuang Fang Lim
Juan Keymer - Now at TU Delft.
Walter Reisner - Now at Mcgill University.
David Inglis - Now at Macquarie University, Sydney.
Jonathan Davis
Robert Riehn - Now at North Carolina State University.